waiting for the right fishing conditions….

April 21, 2010

This spring I finally got my 9wt fly rod setup ready for some awesome steel-head fishing.  I have gone out a dozen times since then and have really had a chance to perfect my cast.  The only problem is that I have not caught any fish yet.  while it can be frustrating at times, I still really enjoy the challenge of it and of course I enjoy being outside in the great outdoors.  I have a had a some action, but my excitement and enthusiasm has cost me the opportunity to bring a nice shiny steel-head.  I am so eager to catch one that I need to remember to relax and let the fish do the work.

My other issue is that I spend most of my time on the Clackamas which is more of a boat friendly river, where most of the good holes are along private property where only boats have access.  So when the water condition are not ideal for bank fishing/ wading it makes it very difficult to locate the fish.  I feel like I am constantly battling the water conditions, whether they are too high or too low.  None the less I love and will continue pursuing perfection and a great deal of fish.  At least I have one thing to look forward to and that is trout season.  I am sure to feel the tug of my line then.

Leave a Reply

