Feeling like I am in a box and I can’t get out…

November 17, 2009

So in my professional life more specifically my professional life looking for work.  I am becoming more and more frustrated with the feeling that I am so boxed into a professional set and at a certain professional level,  that I can’t move up or down to gain employment.  I either have too much experience and they feel the job is below me and I will bolt at first chance  or I have experience in what i am pursing, but maybe not the years.  I was recently talking to a potential employer about everything I did at my last job with a fair amount of  success.  He was amazed with everything that I had done, but the big hang up was the amount of time I have been in the industry.  I have had numerous accounts of this during my time in this business.  What it comes down to is that I have been in a good ol’ boy club industry and that’s the expectation.

The biggest issue for me is that I am on the fence and could go either way, obviously I would prefer to go up.  I have the skills, talents and abilities to move up even beyond my years and I have proven that.  One of my biggest thorns in my side is the fact that I have been laid of 3 times in the last 3 years, I know employers have a hard time overcoming this, and looking it at as something that I have done, but I assure you not, I have just had the misfortune of being in the wrong place and the wrong time, and have lost out.  What I need is to do is convey that message across to potential employers, that I am a worthwhile employee and a potential bargain, especially in this current job market.  All I want to do is break out of my box and go to work, so that I can earn my keep.  What can I do to get this message to come across to potential employers???

Leave a Reply

